Power XL Vortex Air Fryer Review

Last modified on May 7th, 2021 at 3:32 pm

**Disclosure: We recommend the best products we think would help our audience and all opinions expressed here are our own. This post contains affiliate links that at no additional cost to you, and we may earn a small commission. Read our full privacy policy here.

Over the years, I have used many top-rated air fryers. My experience has been – not all air fryers are made equal. There are very few that can bridge the gap between taste and health.

Today, let me talk to you about an air fryer that I think can do this well- the Power XL Vortex Air Fryer.

A little about my weight loss journey. Three years ago, I used to weigh 220 pounds, had a BMI of over 35, and had the kind of la-di-da attitude towards my health that would shock most of our readers!

Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
271 Reviews
Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
  • Presets: french fry, steaks, fish, shrimp, pizza, chicken, baking, dehydrator, roast, reheat
  • No added oil or lard required.
  • Rapid, even heating

Last update on 2021-07-14 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

All of that changed when I was diagnosed with diabetes. After the initial shock and awe (“how could this happen to me?”), I picked myself up and decided to do something about it.

Controlling my diet was important – but how could I give up on my favorite fried food? That’s when I came across air fryers for the first time. They promised to reduce fat content and calories significantly, without losing out on that oh-so-delicious taste!

Things To Consider Before Buying An Air Fryer

Air fryers are, in a way, smaller ovens that can bake and roast. Their heating element is only at the top, and they have a powerful fan to circulate hot air inside them.

What this process does is to produce super crispy stuff, but with considerably less oil.

However, there are a lot of things that go into making a good Air fryer. Below are some things you should remember:

Capacity

Air fryers typically come in sizes that vary between 2 and 7 quarts. If you have a smaller family (one or two people), the 2 to 4 quarts range should be good enough for you. For larger families or outdoor cooking, a larger size is better.

Remember that air fryers will work best when not filled to the brim – always try to buy a size larger than what you think you need.

Lastly, the space available on your countertop matters: larger air fryers can take up nearly 15- 20 inches in both length and width.

Price

Air fryers can cost anywhere between $40 to $300, and that’s a reasonably large commitment for a kitchen appliance, more so because you still have to buy an oven.

Buy an air fryer only if you are committed to lowering your fat intake – otherwise, it will end up hurting you like that gym membership that you never used!

Presets

Many models come with preset modes for specific dishes. It helps you save time in experimentation and gets you the right crispiness the first time.

Multi-functionality

One of the most prized real estate in your home is the kitchen countertop, so the more uses you can squeeze into one appliance, the better.

There are air fryers that also function as toaster ovens and even rotisserie cookers. Choose wisely, and you can save a lot of space.

Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer: Why We Love It?

When it comes to making air fryers, Power XL is simply the best. The Power XL Vortex brings innovation to the power and high quality of other Power XL offerings in the form of “Rapid Air Technology.”

Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
271 Reviews
Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
  • Presets: french fry, steaks, fish, shrimp, pizza, chicken, baking, dehydrator, roast, reheat
  • No added oil or lard required.
  • Rapid, even heating

Last update on 2021-07-14 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Rapid air technology gives you even better, more crispy food that is golden brown and touched from all sides (not just the top and bottom) because of a mighty whirlwind of superheated hot air in the food basket.

This model is also easy to use and clean and comes with many presets to cook all your favorite foods, healthily and deliciously. Whether you are cooking for a small family of 1 or 2 people or a large gathering, the Vortex is available in a wide variety of sizes.

Pros:

  • Multi-purpose. You can air fry, air bake, roast, broil, bake, dehydrate and reheat.
  • A large number of presets
  • Super quick preheating
  • Wide variety of sizes
  • Easy to clean

Cons:

  • You cannot clean the bottom of the basket because of the inner liner.
  • It makes an unusually loud beep when done.

Power XL Vortex Air Fryer: Features & Benefits

Multi-purpose

The Vortex has up to ten cooking presets (in the five and 7-quart models). You can make Fries, Steak, Shrimp, Chicken, Fish and Bake, Reheat, Dehydrate, Pizza, Roast, all at the touch of a button.

Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
271 Reviews
Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
  • Presets: french fry, steaks, fish, shrimp, pizza, chicken, baking, dehydrator, roast, reheat
  • No added oil or lard required.
  • Rapid, even heating

Last update on 2021-07-14 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Apart from air frying, I loved making fruit leather and jerky with the dehydrate function, which are favorites with my 2-year-old.

For the sake of completeness – do note that the smaller versions have lower numbers of presets. The 2-quart model has four options, whereas the 3-quart has eight presets.

Choice of Sizes

Available in a 2,3,5, and even 7 quarts version, the Vortex is perfect for a small family or even a large party. You can quickly cook ten large-sized meatballs or four pieces of southern-style chicken in the 7-quart version!

For my wife, my daughter, and myself, the 5-quart option was the best because we love to entertain and keep having friends over every weekend.

Quick Preheat

Preheating takes up a lot of time in conventional ovens. I found that the Vortex saved me a lot of time that I was spending just idling around because it could preheat in under 3 minutes.

Easy To Use Functions

Air fryers these days are packed with features, and with multiple functions come multiple buttons.

If you’re like me, you will find the “pictorial” display of the Vortex much simpler to understand. It didn’t need hours bent over a manual trying to understand what each button does.

I also loved the blue lighting that comes up whenever you touch the buttons. It is pleasing to the eye and has a sharp contrast to the panel, which is black.

Rapid Air Technology

I find that in most air fryers, however good they claim to be, the ability to get that “perfectly crispy” taste and appearance is missing. You never get the same stuff that you get with a deep fryer.

The Vortex came as close as possible to that, with the taste nearly perfect and a nice “golden brown” color that you seldom get from air fryers.

Call it “Rapid Air Technology” or whatever, the Vortex checked the two most essential boxes in my book for an air fryer.

Easy Clean

What I loved the most about the Vortex was that both the basket and the tray have a nonstick coating.

However little oil you use on your snacks, it’s never easy to get it off. The nonstick coating made it pretty easy to clean the Vortex, saving some time for me.

Most importantly, it was easy to take out the basket at the front and just put it in the dishwasher with the rest of the utensils.

Temperature Settings

I am not big on experimenting with food, but some people are. So it is only right that I mention the temperature range if you don’t want the easy “Preset” options.

While the two-quart option can have temperatures between 180-400 degrees F, the higher models can go between 90 to 400 degrees F.

I don’t think any dish needs below 180 degrees, but it’s always good to know that I have the option!

Power

Well, this one is more for the technical folks out there; I’ll be darned if I could ever get the hang of things like “Wattage” and “HorsePower.”

But from my limited understanding, as explained by a friend, the higher the wattage, the better the speed at which heating happens and how well the machine “holds” the temperature.

So it’s no surprise that the bigger the model, the higher the wattage (the 7-quart uses up to 1700W). Do remember, the higher the wattage, the higher is your electricity bill!

Alternatives

1. COSORI Air Fryer Max XL

The COSORI air fryer is a top-rated air fryer and has won awards for its design and style. Its main benefit over other air fryers, including the Power XL Vortex, is the square tray (instead of a round basket).

Sale
COSORI Air Fryer Max XL(100 Recipes) Digital Hot Oven Cooker, One Touch Screen with 13 Cooking Functions, Preheat and Shake Reminder, 5.8 QT, Black
53,370 Reviews
COSORI Air Fryer Max XL(100 Recipes) Digital Hot Oven Cooker, One Touch Screen with 13 Cooking Functions, Preheat and Shake Reminder, 5.8 QT, Black
  • Critically Acclaimed: COSORI Pro Air fryer (Red Dot Award, 2019) features 13 one-touch cooking functions and rapid 360° air...
  • Less Oil: The air fryer uses up to 85% less oil than traditional deep frying methods while maintaining the same delicious...
  • Large Capacity: The air fryer's spacious 5.8-quart square baskets can fit a whole 5-pound chicken. Additionally, the corner...

Last update on 2021-07-14 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

With a square tray, the fryer can hold a large size (say 5 or 6 pounds) chicken in one go, whereas the round tray of the Power XL has less space for the same tray capacity.

2. Ultrean Air Fryer Electric Hot Air Fryers

The Ultrean range of air fryers is worth looking into if you’re looking for a slightly less expensive but equally good option.

Sale
Ultrean Air Fryer, 4.2 Quart (4 Liter) Electric Hot Air Fryers Oven Oilless Cooker with LCD Digital Screen and Nonstick Frying Pot, ETL/UL Certified,1-Year Warranty,1500W (Black)
20,740 Reviews
Ultrean Air Fryer, 4.2 Quart (4 Liter) Electric Hot Air Fryers Oven Oilless Cooker with LCD Digital Screen and Nonstick Frying Pot, ETL/UL Certified,1-Year Warranty,1500W (Black)
  • Enjoy Food with Less Fat or Oil: With Ultrean air fryer you can enjoy the same fried and crispy foods with less fat and...
  • Get a Multifunction Cooker That Saves Your Time and Money: Aside from air frying you can also grill, roast, and bake your...
  • Hassle-Free Operation: With accessible buttons and an easy cooking set up, It comes with an auto switch off timer (0-30mins)...

Last update on 2021-07-14 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Ultrean has an easy to use, safe, and accessible user panel and is especially recommended for seniors living in the place.

3. Dash Air Fryer, Compact

The 2-quart version of the Dash is more powerful and quicker than the 2-quart option of the Power XL Vortex.

Dash Compact Air Fryer Oven Cooker with Temperature Control, Non-stick Fry Basket, Recipe Guide + Auto Shut off Feature, 2 Quart - Aqua
13,055 Reviews
Dash Compact Air Fryer Oven Cooker with Temperature Control, Non-stick Fry Basket, Recipe Guide + Auto Shut off Feature, 2 Quart - Aqua
  • HEALTHIER FRIED FOOD: Dash Compact Air Fryer uses AirCrisp technology (instead of oil) to help reduce added fat by 70-80%,...
  • QUICK + EASY: Short on time? Simply load the 2 qt capacity fryer basket, set the temp, and set the timer. Your food comes out...
  • SAFER: The auto-shut off function prevents overcooking, and the cool touch housing and handle makes it safer to use. It’s...

Last update on 2021-07-14 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

The Dash is something you should look into if you’re searching for a powerful but small air fryer.

Conclusion

My journey from fat to fit over the last few years has been helped along in no small terms by air fryers.

They have helped me enjoy my favorite snacks without worrying about the calories that come with them. But like I said, not all air fryers are built the same.

The Power XL Vortex is one of the few that cook food nearly as good as deep fryers and does it much less time and almost 80% less fat and oil.

Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
271 Reviews
Power XL Vortex 7-Quart Air Fryer
  • Presets: french fry, steaks, fish, shrimp, pizza, chicken, baking, dehydrator, roast, reheat
  • No added oil or lard required.
  • Rapid, even heating

Last update on 2021-07-14 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

If you are looking for something that can give you the same taste as a deep fryer, I would recommend the Power XL Vortex.

References:

[1] https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25619624/

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.